

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

31st May 2019

PRESS RELEASE

NEW MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT TAKE OATH OF OFFICE

Welcoming the New Members of Parliament in light of the Orders of the High Court of Sierra Leone, the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu said he hoped they would live up to the expectations of the Nation and their Constituents during the course of executing their duties as Members of Parliament.

Announcing the new configuration of the House, the Hon. Speaker declared the ruling SLPP as the Majority Party now in Parliament with 58 MPs; APC 57; C4C 08; NGC 04; Independent MPs 03; and 13 PCMP, due to the demise of Hon. P.C Kandeh Wusu Sesay III of Karene District, and bye-election to be conducted for two vacant seats due to death and a re-run ordered by the High Court (3 vacancies including one PCMP and two constituencies to be filled in Koinadugu and Freetown) bringing the total composition of the Fifth Parliament of the Second Republic to 146 Members of Parliament. Due to legislation, the Fifth Parliament has 14 PCMP consequent of the creation of Karene and Falaba Districts. They are indirectly elected to represent the 14 Provincial Districts in the country, unlike the MPs who are directly elected to represent the 132 Constituencies across the country.

Regarding the ruling of the High Court served to the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally on Friday 31st May 2019, Nine New Members of Parliament have taken and subscribed to the Oath of Office as provided for in the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.

The following New Members of Parliament have subscribed to the Oath of Office as detailed in the Third Schedule of the said Constitution:

I. Hon. Rev. Horace E. Vincent

II. Hon. Allieu Ibrahim Kamara

III. Hon. Ahmed Joseph Kanu

IV. Hon. Tennyson Hindolo Sandy

V. Hon. Abdul Sulaiman Marray-Conteh

VI. Hon. John Telson Koroma

VII. Hon. Benjamin Turay

VIII. Hon. Emmanuel S. Gbekie and

IX. Hon. Abdul M. Lansana

After the administration of oath by the Clerk of Parliament, he congratulated and handed copies of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone and the Standing Orders of the House to the New MPs for procedural guidance during the course of proceedings in Parliament.

Following the Orders of the High Court served to the Clerk of Parliament in light of its verdict relating to petitions regarding the 2018 General Elections, Ten former MPs belonging to the APC have lost their seats in Parliament.

The following former MPs have lost their seats in Parliament:

I. Hon. Momoh Kamara-Constituency 120

II. Hon. Kemokoh Conteh-Constituency 108

III. Hon. John Sartie Kargbo-Constituency 111

IV. Hon. Ahmed Mansaray-Constituency 121

V. Hon. Hariyatu A. Bangura-Constituency 116

VI. Hon. Abu Bakarr Sillah-Constituency 128

VII. Hon. Sirajin Rollings Kamara-Constituency 127

VIII. Hon. Osman Abdal Timbo-Constituency 130

IX. Hon. Mohamed Sheriff Carew-Constituency 122 and

X. Hon. Khadijatu Davies-Constituency- 110

In another development, the Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Friday 31st May 2019 debated and passed into law with some amendments the Bills entitled "The Bank of Sierra Leone Act, 2019" and "The Banking Act, 2019", with the aim of improving and strengthening financial laws and regulations in the country.

The Bank of Sierra Leone Act 2019 is seeking to continue in existence the Bank of Sierra Leone to act as a banker, adviser and fiscal agent to support the general economic policy of the Government of Sierra Leone. It also provides for the maintenance of price stability, stable financial system, formulation and implementation of monetary policy and financial regulations with prudent standards.

The Banking Act of 2019 is providing for the licensing of persons carrying on banking business, the regulation and supervision of banking activities, financial holding companies and subsidiaries, and the protection of depositors.

Members of Parliament commended Government for bringing those Bills to Parliament with the view to inject confidence and to enhance effective fiscal and monetary policies in the management of the economy of Sierra Leone.

Department of Public Relations Parliament of Sierra Leone +23278495023/+23278426851